Hayden and I luckily got to fly out to Chicago on the same flight. Unluckily for him, I was in Economy Plus and he was in the second-to-last row in the back of the plane. BUT, we were both in the middle seat, so it wasn’t a picnic for me either!

We got in, got our rental car, and began to discover how horrible the drivers are in Chicago. Even people with Illinois plates don’t know where they are going. We stopped off at P.F. Cheng’s for lunch (lettuce wraps!) and then headed to our hotel. It is a nice little room. Big enough for both of us to be on the couch right now watching football and working on our computers.

After settling in, we drove to downtown Chicago to watch the sunset. We finally found parking that was a little cheaper than a $24 flat rate. We walked all along Navy Pier and battled the cold. Well, I battled it just fine. Hayden was having some problems being cold.

What I’ve already come to realize is that this pregnancy is making me HOT. I was wearing a fleece and sweating. Hayden had on his winter coat, with the inner lining, and was freezing. I’ve also realized I can’t take a large step up to things anymore. The step onto the rental car transfer bus was almost too much for me; the step up to take a picture near an anchor on the pier about did me in. (And this was all after shutting the car door on my stomach before leaving Virginia. When did I get that big? I have no idea who thick I am.)

But I digress. Hayden and I had a nice afternoon in Chicago. As I kept telling him, I would rather be anywhere with him than home in Virginia without him.

Emma and Gwen wanted some pictures of Uncle Hayden, so here are a few teasers until I can upload all of them.

In the car

In the car

Navy Pier

Navy Pier