A co-worker and I flew out to Louisville, Kentucky (through Chicago) on Monday. We are attending the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) conference. We walked around town a little on Monday and checked out the restaurants in the area. Right down the street from our hotel is 4th Street Live and a few museums.

On Tuesday we walked to the Louisville Slugger museum and went on a factory tour. It was a great tour! We saw how bats are made for the general public and how they are made for the professionals. While we were there they were working on a rush order for the World Series (which I’m watching right now). We saw them dipping the bats in the appropriate finish stain for CC Sabathia’s bats. I also got to hold a bat used by David Ortiz during a game. (They require you to wear these thin white gloves when handling the bats used in games.)

Also on Tuesday I met an old friend for lunch. Donna and I went to Slidell Jr. High together (and possibly elementary school, but I can’t remember). She moved from Slidell to Louisville after 9th grade; I moved after 8th grade. We met for lunch and her husband, Matt, and two of her three daughters joined us. It was great to catch up. She and her husband might be coming to DC at the end of the year, and if so, we will meet up again. I love Facebook for just such reconnections.

On Wednesday (today), the conference officially started. And as with any conference, you pick a session that has an interesting title and summary, but when you go, it isn’t anything you thought it would be. I need to get my schedule together for tomorrow and see how many I can strike out on again.

(Apparently I used all the available upload space for this month on my Flickr account. I’ve moved over to Photobucket. And I can’t figure out how to make the slideshow appear. I’ll work on it later. For now, click the link!)

Louisville, KY