No more builder beige in this house. I love color, but the time and money it takes to paint is overwhelming. In our old house we only painted the kids’ rooms. Our kitchen/family room/dining room combo was so large, with strange angles everywhere, I didn’t know where to stop one color and begin the next. My solution: just don’t paint.

As soon as we walked into this house, I knew I had to have a gray family room. It’s a hot color, and everywhere I looked people had a shade of gray here, a hint of gray there. I was jealous, to say the least. When my parents said they’d buy us bar stools as a housewarming gift, we got gray ones. I would sit watching TV, only half paying attention, and dream of the gray walls in my future.

Well my friends, this is the week. This is when our main living level gets some color. What started as a “let’s just paint the family room and kitchen” affair turned into a “let’s just paint the whole first level.”

Day 1: Dining room, foyer, playroom. Check, check, and check. Here are some bad teaser photos from my iPhone to get you interested:

The dining room color with two coats of paint. Third coat coming soon. Sherwin Williams Gingery

The dining room color with two coats of paint. Third coat coming soon.

Playroom: Sherwin Williams Burlap

Playroom

Foyer: Sherwin Williams Sand Beach. You can see the dining room in the background.

Foyer. You can see the dining room in the background.

Foyer: Sherwin Williams Sand Beach. You can see the playroom in the background.

Foyer. You can see the playroom in the background.

The ladies are back again today to put the finishing touches on those rooms and to begin the bathroom, the family room, and the kitchen. I’m so ‘cited!

Here are the swatches that are coming (and so I can find them later if I need to touch up):

Playroom: SW_Burlap6137

Playroom: SW_Burlap6137

Dining Room: SW_Gingery6363

Dining Room: SW_Gingery6363

Foyer and stairs: SW_SandBeach7529

Foyer and stairs: SW_SandBeach7529

Kitchen and Sunroom: SW_SportyBlue6522

Kitchen and Sunroom: SW_SportyBlue6522

Family Room: SW_SteelyGray7664

Family Room: SW_SteelyGray7664

Half Bath: SW_SecureBlue6508

Half Bath: SW_SecureBlue6508

More to come!